International Institute of Cricket Umpiring & Scoring
MankadThis special case occurred in our league last weekend.
The situation: Scores are tied (team chasing requires 1 to win the game)
Non-striker starts running as soon as the bowler starts running in bowler throws down the non-striker's stumps before entering his delivery stride as stated in the Laws. Non-striker is already halfway down the pitch. Based on the Laws I read it as the game is over with the team chasing having won the game.
Reason: As soon as the bowler throws at the stumps it is a no-ball and the game is won and anything that happens after that is null and void.
The incident described is covered by Law 42.15, which permits the bowler, before entering his delivery stride, to attempt to run out the non-striker. If the attempt fails, the umpire will call Dead ball; if the attempt succeeds, the ball will become dead on the fall of the wicket; in either case the ball does not count as one of the over.
Law 42.15 does not require No ball to be called.
Therefore the scores will remain level, the non-striker will be out Run out and play will continue unless the fall of the wicket meant that the batting sideís innings was concluded.
It seems that this situation is being confused with the similar one in which the bowler is permitted to make an attempt to secure the run out of the striker by throwing the ball towards the strikerís end before entering his delivery stride, a situation that is covered by Law 24.4 and, unlike the incident described, would indeed result in the call of No ball.
Read more about Law 24.4 (No ball) and Law 42.15 (Fair and unfair play) at the MCC website